clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bjergsen named NA LCS MVP for record 3rd time

No other player has won the award more than once.

Riot Games

Team SoloMid mid laner Søren “Bjergsen” Bjerg has won the NA LCS MVP Award for a record third time. After another excellent split from Bjergsen, he was named the MVP in an unsurprising decision announced Saturday before the third-place match between Immortals and Counter Logic Gaming.

Bjergsen’s biggest competition for the award was his teammate Yiliang “Doublelift” Peng, TSM’s AD Carry. Bjergsen finished the split with the highest KDA among mid laners by far, at 7.1 ahead of Immortals’ Eugene “Pobelter” Park at 4.9 in second place.

Earlier in August, I made the case for Bjergsen winning the award, in large part because of how infrequently he died despite being the focus of the enemy team’s attention nearly every game:

Take a look at the leaderboard for least deaths by North American starting mid laners this split:

Bjergsen, TSM -- 62

Jensen, C9 — 90

Froggen, Echo Fox — 91

Keane, Apex — 91

Fenix, Team Liquid — 92

Bjergsen previously won the award in Spring 2014 and Spring 2015. No other player has won the award more than once.