clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here are the teams and the schedule for MSI 2016

Can anyone get in SKT's way?

Riot Games

The domestic League of Legends leagues around the world have crowned their spring champions, which means it's time to move on to the Mid-Season Invitational in Shanghai. Six teams will be competing in one of the highest-profile tournaments of the year, and there will be a new champion: defending MSI winners Edward Gaming failed to qualify after losing to Royal Never Give Up in the Chinese finals.

Flash Wolves was the first team to qualify for the tournament, upsetting ahq e-Sports Club in Taiwan's LMS Finals. G2 Esports was next, following up its first place regular season finish with a victory over Origen in the EU LCS Finals, and Counter Logic Gaming qualified later that day with a dramatic five-game win against Team SoloMid in the NA LCS Finals.

Three teams qualified Saturday to complete the field. After Royal Never Give Up took down Edward Gaming to clinch its spot, defending Worlds champions SK Telecom T1 beat the top-seeded ROX Tigers in the Korean finals. Turkey's SuperMassive eSports was the final team to earn its MSI spot, beating Russia's Hard Random three games to one in the International Wild Card Invitational finals.

Group Stage:

(all times Eastern)

Day 1 - Wednesday, May 4:

  • Start of show and opening ceremony - 1:30 a.m.
  • Royal Never Give Up vs. Counter Logic Gaming - 2 a.m.
  • G2 Esports vs. Flash Wolves - 3 a.m.
  • SK Telecom T1 vs. SuperMassive eSports - 4 a.m.
  • Counter Logic Gaming vs. Flash Wolves - 5 a.m.
  • G2 Esports vs. SK Telecom T1 - 6 a.m.
  • SuperMassive eSports vs. Royal Never Give Up - 7 a.m.

Day 2 - Thursday, May 5:

  • Counter Logic Gaming vs. G2 Esports - 1:30 a.m.
  • SK Telecom T1 vs. Royal Never Give Up - 2:30 a.m.
  • Flash Wolves vs. SuperMassive eSports - 3:30 a.m.
  • Royal Never Give Up vs. G2 Esports - 4:30 a.m.
  • SuperMassive eSports vs. Counter Logic Gaming - 5:30 a.m.
  • SK Telecom T1 vs. Flash Wolves - 6:30 a.m.

Day 3 - Friday, May 6:

  • Flash Wolves vs. Royal Never Give Up - 1:30 a.m.
  • Counter Logic Gaming vs. SK Telecom T1 - 2:30 a.m.
  • SuperMassive eSports vs. G2 Esports - 3:30 a.m.
  • Flash Wolves vs. SK Telecom T1 - 4:30 a.m.
  • Counter Logic Gaming vs. SuperMassive eSports - 5:30 a.m.
  • G2 Esports vs. Royal Never Give Up - 6:30 a.m.

Day 4 - Saturday, May 7:

  • G2 Esports vs. SuperMassive eSports - 1:30 a.m.
  • Royal Never Give Up vs. Flash Wolves - 2:30 a.m.
  • SK Telecom T1 vs. Counter Logic Gaming - 3:30 a.m.
  • Flash Wolves vs. G2 Esports - 4:30 a.m.
  • Counter Logic Gaming vs. Royal Never Give Up - 5:30 a.m.
  • SuperMassive eSports vs. SK Telecom T1 - 6:30 a.m.

Day 5 - Sunday, May 8:

  • Royal Never Give Up vs. SuperMassive eSports - 11:30 p.m.
  • Flash Wolves vs. Counter Logic Gaming  - 12:30 a.m.
  • SK Telecom T1 vs. G2 Esports - 1:30 a.m.
  • SuperMassive eSports vs. Flash Wolves - 2:30 a.m.
  • G2 Esports vs. Counter Logic Gaming - 3:30 a.m.
  • Royal Never Give Up vs. SK Telecom T1 - 4:30 a.m.

Knockout Stage:

The top four teams from the Group Stage will advance to the Knockout Stage. The Knockout Stage takes place on May 13-15 with a Bo5 series per day starting at 1:30 a.m. ET each day.